Brookdale Golf Club was founded as Clayton Golf Club on 8 July 1896. At that time the annual fee was £1 shilling and there were 75 members. The captain was H. Connolly and the professional was J. Nicholls. The course consisted of 9 holes and the first course record (36 strokes) was set on 8 September.
In September 1905 the club moved to Lord Lane, Failsworth and was renamed "Brookdale Golf Club". Alderman Edgar Bowes made a tee shot with a wooden shafted driver that can still be seen in the clubhouse today.
The nine holes at Lord Lane developed into a very interesting course, but at the end of the 1930s the construction of houses in the area began. The need for houses for a growing population soon reduced the amount of land available around the course, and land prices rose to such an extent that the Club's directors began to consider a move. In 1960 the move to Woodhouses was a fact.
The rolling course of Brookdale Golf Club, situated in an idyllic landscape, has breathtaking views. Especially from the 12th tee, where the whole course can be seen. On six holes, the Medlock River meanders through the course.
The course of Brookdale Golf Club is suitable for players of all levels.